Festival | FLOFEST - Celebrating the Art of Dance

FESTIVAL

FESTIVAL

Powered by Hit The Floor, FLOFEST is a brand new multi-style dance festival to be held in Montreal from July 2-4, 2021. FLOFEST’s mission is to mobilize artists and diverse audiences around dance as a creation tool. The festival is committed to providing a collaborative learning space accessible to all, including stimulating cultural and artistic experiences.

Learn

The FLOFEST Training Space is open to all artists who are eager to learn. It is a common space for exchange and sharing that offers both physical and mental training focused on the personal and professional development of each artist. All the activities that will take place in this creative space will be led by industry professionals.

Whether you are a dancer, teacher, studio director or a dance enthusiast, you are more than welcome to come and learn with us!

The pass gives you access to ALL activities during this 3-day festival:

This learning space will be divided into 4 sections:

1) Choreo Classes

75-minute class during which a choreography based on the instructor’s knowledge in one or more specific style(s) will be taught under the following formula: 15-min Warm-up Improv | 15-min Mindset | 45-min Combo. Two levels will be offered: Learners and Advanced. A class suitable for Juniors will also be offered.

2) Foundations Classes

75-minute class with the goal of educating dancers on the history of the style and its founder as well as the terms and movements associated with the style. The class will be led by a specialist in one or more specific style(s) under the following formula: 15-min Intro | 45-min Foundation | 15-min Freestyle

3) FLOFEST Talks

Three types of FLOFEST Talks will be offered during the festival:

| Conferences (Activities open to all)

| Discussion Panels (Activities open to all)

| Round Table Discussions (Activities reserved for studio directors & teachers)

4) Auditions

NEW: two auditions will be held at the same time during FLOFEST.

| Auditions 15+ | Hit The Floor Ambassadors Program

| Junior Training 15- | Mock Auditions


Dance

QUALIFICATIONS

The FLOFEST competition is for all dancers who wish to push their limits on stage and receive constructive feedback from credible judges in the dance industry. The Qualifications are divided into two levels, namely Learner Level (3 years of experience and less) and Advanced Level (4 years of experience and more) and are open to Solos, Duos & Trios and Groups (Small Group | Large Group | Production).

The FLOFEST Qualifications will take place over three consecutive days in preparation for the Finals. Only routines registered in the Advanced level will be eligible for the Finals. It is the perfect time to wrap up the 2021 competitive season!

FINALS

The FLOFEST Finals include soloists, duos & trios as well as groups. Four different Finals will take place: Junior Final | Varsity Final | Senior Final | Production Final. The three 2021 Hit The Floor Showcases Champions (Gatineau, Saint-Hyacinthe and Lévis) will automatically have a spot in the FLOFEST Final. Among these four champions, the routine with the highest score will receive the title of FLOFEST Grand Champion.

Who will be the first FLOFEST champion?

Celebrate

The FLOFEST Village offers outdoor cultural celebrations that will bring together all the dancers, artists and art & culture enthusiasts in a collective space.

The festivities will take place at @Village au Pied-du-Courant, a unique place in Montreal an urban beach vibe.

The brand-new concept of the FLOFEST Village is developed in collaboration with @Afrotonik and is free and open to all! Come celebrate the dance, culture and diversity of our great community!

| FLOFEST Freestyle Sessions

| FLOFEST Battles

| Performances

| Live DJ

| Food Trucks

Photo Credit : @willafro @bnafro

Explore

FLOW | Collaborative production presented by artists from here

The FLOFEST Artistic Show will host a brand-new collaborative production: FLOW.

This production will provide Quebec and Canadian talents with a unique platform to present an artistic piece.

FLOW wishes to highlight artistic independence and to positively inspire the community in addition to stimulating the next generation of dance.

Since our artistic approach is based on innovation and the creation of unique pieces, we work in close collaboration with Quebec and Canadian artists in the process of creation and validation of the works presented.

Artists: Write to us to submit a piece!

Festival | FLOFEST - Celebrating the Art of Dance

Festival

Festival

Propulsé par Hit The Floor, le FLOFEST est un tout nouveau festival de danse multi-styles qui se tiendra du 2-4 juillet 2021 à Montréal. Le FLOFEST a pour mission de mobiliser les artistes et les différents publics autour de l’outil de création qu’est la danse. Le festival s’engage à offrir un espace d’échange et d’apprentissage accessible à tous, incluant des rencontres culturelles enrichissantes ainsi que des expériences artistiques stimulantes.

Apprends

L’Espace Training FLOFEST est ouvert à tous les artistes qui ont soif d’apprendre. C’est un espace commun d’échange et de partage qui offre un training autant physique que mental axé sur le développement personnel et professionnel de chacun. Toutes les activités qui se tiendront à cet espace créatif seront animées et dirigées par des professionnels de l’industrie.

Que vous soyez un danseur, professeur, directeur d’école ou tout simplement un passionné de l’art de la danse, vous êtes plus que le bienvenu à venir apprendre avec nous!

La passe te donne accès à l’ENSEMBLE des activités durant les 3 jours de programmation.

Cet espace d’apprentissage sera divisé en 4 sections :

1) Choreo Classes

Classe de 75 minutes durant laquelle une chorégraphie basée sur les connaissances de l’enseignant dans un ou plusieurs style(s) spécifiques vous sera enseignée sous la formule suivante : 15-min Warm-up Improv | 15-min Mindset | 45-min Combo. Deux niveaux seront offerts : Learners et Advanced. Une classe adaptée aux Juniors serait également offerte.

2) Foundations Classes

Classe de 75 minutes ayant pour objectif d’éduquer les danseurs sur l’histoire du style et son fondateur ainsi que les termes et les mouvements associés à ce style. La classe sera dirigée par un « spécialiste » d’un ou de plusieurs style(s) spécifiques sous la formule suivante : 15-min Intro | 45-min Foundation | 15-min Freestyle

3) FLOFEST Talks

Trois types de FLOFEST Talks seront offerts durant le festival :

| Conférences (Activités ouvertes à tous)

| Panels de discussion (Activités ouvertes à tous)

| Tables rondes (Activités réservées aux directeurs d’école & aux enseignants)

4) Auditions

NOUVEAUTÉ : deux auditions se tiendront en même temps lors du FLOFEST.

| Auditions 15+ | Programme Ambassadeurs Hit The Floor

| Junior Training 15- | Auditions fictives


Danse

QUALIFICATIONS

La compétition FLOFEST s’adresse à tous les danseurs qui souhaitent se dépasser sur scène et recevoir des commentaires constructifs de la part de juges crédibles de l’industrie de la danse. Les Qualifications sont divisées en deux niveaux, soit Learner (3 ans d’expérience et moins) et Advance (4 ans d’expérience et plus) et sont ouvertes au Solos, Duos & Trios et Groupes (Small Group | Large Group | Production).

Les Qualifications FLOFEST se dérouleront durant trois jours consécutifs en vue des Finales. C’est le moment idéal pour boucler la saison de compétition 2021!

FINALES

Les Finales FLOFEST incluent autant les solistes, les duos & trios que les groupes et sont composées de quatre finales distinctes : Junior Final | Varsity Final | Senior Final | Production Final. Les trois champions des Showcases Hit The Floor 2021 (Gatineau, Saint-Hyacinthe et Lévis) obtiendront automatiquement leur place dans la Finale du FLOFEST. Parmi ces quatre champions, la routine ayant eu le pointage le plus élevé recevra le titre de Grands Champions FLOFEST.

Qui sera le champion FLOFEST 2021 ?

Célèbre

Le Village FLOFEST propose aux festivaliers des célébrations culturelles extérieures qui rassembleront tous les danseurs, artistes et passionnés d’art et de culture dans un espace collectif.

Lieu d’échange et de création, c’est au @Village au Pied-du-Courant qu’auront lieu les festivités, un lieu unique à Montréal aux allures de plage urbaine réinventée.

Le tout nouveau concept du Village FLOFEST est développé en collaboration avec @Afrotonik et est gratuit et ouvert à tous! Venez célébrer la danse, la culture et la diversité de notre grande communauté!

| Freestyle Sessions FLOFEST

| Battles FLOFEST

| Performances

| Live DJ

| Food Trucks

Crédit Photo : @willafro @bnafro

Explore

FLOWProduction collaborative présentée par des artistes d’ici

La Vitrine Artistique FLOFEST sera l’hôte d’une toute nouvelle production collaborative : FLOW.

La production de spectacle offrira aux talents québécois et canadiens une plateforme unique pour présenter une pièce artistique.

FLOW souhaite mettre en lumière l’indépendance artistique et désire inspirer positivement la communauté en plus de stimuler la relève en danse.

Puisque notre démarche artistique est basée sur l’innovation et la création de pièces uniques, nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec les artistes québécois et canadiens dans le processus de création et de validation des œuvres présentées.

Appel à tous les artistes : Écrivez-nous pour nous soumettre une pièce !